Ravenscroft Warriors

Boss: John
Captain: Tim Ravenscroft
Total spent: GCB$30,000,000
Rate this team:
VN:F [1.9.7_1111]

About the team

GOODBYE the Centurions, we are now Warriors

The Jon Ravenscroft franchise has a new title and this year they will have two former England internationals to spearhead their challenge, along with the dynamic skipper and former Hampshire player, Tim Ravenscroft .

Anthony McGrath and Darren Maddy will share the GPL duties for the Warriors and in McGrath’s case they get very much two players in one.

It is 18 years now since the all-rounder annoiunced himself on the county scene in a blaze of glory at 19.

‘The one bonus was the development of Anthony McGrath into a player of obvious class,’ wrote Wisden the following sporing.

His 999 runs the following season won him a place on an England A tour of Pakistan when his captain was Nasser Hussain.

But then McGrath’s career went into reverse and soon he was keeping his place in the side with a spot of swing bowling as well as some occasionally eye-catching batting. In 2002 he topped Yorkshire’s Championship bowling averages (18 wickets at 27.66), but was only sixth in the batting (803 runs at 32.12, including a career-best 165 in the Roses match).

When, in 2003, the Australian Darren Lehmann decided to have a year off from county cricket, and Yorkshire decided not to burden Michael Vaughan with the captaincy,  McGrath was appointed.

And in no time at all the national selectors came calling too to fill in for the mighty Andrew Flintoff.

He made an immediate impact as well, with consecutive half-centuries against Zimbabwe, and three wickets in his first six overs.

The summer of 2006 was particularly fruitful as he averaged 60.00 as well as hitting a one-day best 148 in late August.

In 2009, he made a stunning career-best 211 against Warwickshire at Edgbaston and with the captaincy responsibilities lifted from his shoulders in 2010 he bounced back  to score 1,219 first-class runs, passing the thousand runs mark for the third time in his career and posting a number of match-winning innings.

He scored heavily, too, in both the 40 and 20-over competitions.

Sadly, he then began t suffer various niggles and earlier this year he announced his retirement from first-class cricket.

But, as a part-time Warrior, he should add much to the hopes of the Ravenscrofts.

Darren Maddy is another highly-experienced former county player and, like McGrath, for a short time made his mark at international level.

He’d work hard for his chance, piling up runs for Leicestershire as they won the Championship in 1996 and 1998 and his highest first-class score, a double hundred, was made on an England A tour of Kenya.

The advent of Twenty20  cricket gave his new impetus and by the end of 2006 season he had become the first batsmen in the world to pass 1000 runs in the shortest form.

Maddy was a vital member of the team that won the trophy in 2004 and 2006, while his bowling and fielding mean he is never out of the action.

After finally leaving Leicestershire he signed for Warwickshire at the end of the 2006 season and was soon appointed captain when Heath Streak resigned.

In 2008, he led the club to promotion in the Championship but, in the winter, relinquished the captaincy.

GPL Season 1 – 3rd place

See season 1 results here >>

GPL Season 2 – 3rd place

See season 2 results here >>

Ravenscroft Warriors , 3.8 out of 5 based on 4 ratings


Lucas Barker 0 GCB$600k
Stuart Bisson 0 GCB$1,600,000
Max Ellis 0 GCB$2,500,000
Jeremy Frith 0 GCB$5,000,000
Josh Kirk 0 GCB$500k
Adam Le Page 0 GCB$500,000
Jason Martin 0
Anthony McGrath 0
Ollie Newey 0 GCB$3,100,000
Will Peatfield 0 GCB$4,700,000
Tim Ravenscroft 0
Matt Stokes 0
Chris Van Vliet 0 GCB$500k